Of 31 subscriptions we track, 18 can be cancelled online. The rest need a phone call, a visit, or a letter.
Where you have to go, how many steps it takes, whether you get money back, and how many catches we found. Each from the company’s own help page, with the date we checked it.
| Service | Cancel where | Steps | Refund | Catches | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Prime | online | 2 | If you're a paid member and haven't used any Prime benefits this period, you get a full refund for it, processed in 3–5 business days. | 3 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Spotify Premium | online | 2 | No refund for the current period. You keep Premium until the billing date. | 4 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Adobe Creative Cloud | online | 3 | Most plans get a full refund if you cancel within 14 days of first buying. After that, it depends on your plan type. | 5 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Audible | online | 3 | Not stated | 4 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| ChatGPT Plus / Pro | online | 3 | Cancelling doesn't refund past charges. That's a separate request. | 5 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| HBO Max | online | 3 | Not stated | 4 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Headspace | online | 3 | Subscriptions bought directly on Headspace.com are non-refundable, though Headspace says it will look at special circumstances if you email [email protected]. App Store and Google Play sales are final and non-refundable, and refunds there are Apple's or Google's decision. | 5 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| Microsoft 365 | online | 3 | Not every cancellation gets a refund. You only find out if you're eligible after cancelling. | 5 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Netflix | online | 3 | No partial refund. You simply keep access until the billing period ends. | 4 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Paramount+ | online | 3 | Not stated | 4 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| Strava | online | 3 | Full refund possible within 14 days of purchase, by asking Strava support. After 14 days the subscription is non-refundable. A renewal that already happened is not refunded by cancelling. | 4 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| Calm | online | 4 | Cancelling does not by itself produce a refund. Refunds are only available for Calm.com and Google Play purchases, within 30 days. Apple purchases must go to Apple. | 6 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| Disney+ | online | 4 | Not stated | 4 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Dropbox | online | 4 | The page describes no refund for the current period. For a billing error, Dropbox points you to its support options. | 6 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| HelloFresh | online | 4 | HelloFresh cannot process a cancellation after the cut-off. You are responsible for all charges on orders that were already processed. | 2 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| YouTube Premium & YouTube Music Premium | online | 4 | Not stated | 2 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Canva | online | 5 | In most cases Canva subscriptions are not refundable, but Canva reviews every request. Approved refunds take 5-10 business days on a credit card, 3-5 on PayPal, up to 20 on other methods. | 7 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| Grammarly | online | 5 | Not stated | 5 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| Apple subscriptions (App Store, Apple Music, Apple TV, iCloud+) | online or on device | 3 | Not stated | 5 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Instacart+ | app or online | 3 | Annual members: full refund if you cancel within the first 5 days of a paid membership and haven't used it for any orders. Otherwise no refund. | 2 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| LinkedIn Premium | online (desktop) | 3 | Not stated | 3 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Nintendo Switch Online | online or console | 3 | No refunds and no credit for the time left on the subscription. | 7 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| The New York Times | online, chat or phone | 3 | Not stated | 3 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Peacock | online or chat | 3 | No refunds or credits for past payments unless the law requires it. | 3 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Planet Fitness | online, in person or by mail | 3 | Not stated | 4 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| PlayStation Plus | online or console | 3 | Not stated | 3 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| SiriusXM | online, chat or phone | 3 | No refunds or credits for partial periods, with some exceptions. | 3 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Walmart+ | online or phone | 3 | Not stated | 3 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Xbox Game Pass | online or console | 3 | A refund is possible within 30 days of the first purchase, or before the first recurring charge, whichever comes first. You can also get the most recent recurring charge back if you cancel within 30 days of it, but only once per Microsoft account per subscription product. | 7 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| DoorDash DashPass | app or online | 4 | Not stated | 2 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Uber One | app | 5 | Not stated | 1 | Oct 31, 2026 |
How long you have to return things · Which policies changed, and when